Four Vees alumni nominees for major college hockey honour

Ex-Vees up for big award

Four Vees alumni are among the initial list of nominees for the prestigious Hobey Baker Award, annually recognizing the best player in college hockey.

Easton Brodzinski (St. Cloud State University), Yaniv Perets (Quinnipiac University), Owen Sillinger (Bemidji State University) and Taylor Ward (University of Nebraska-Omaha) all made the list of 77 finalists vying for the top spot, 19 of home are BC Hockey League almuni.

Brodzinksi scored 32 goals and added 34 assists in his 54 regular season games with the Vees, and has 16 points so far for St. Cloud this year.

Ward scored 35 goals and 41 assists during his own tenure with the Vees, and has 23 points so far this season with Nebraska-Omaha.

Former Vees captain Sillinger left a legacy of 66 goals and 87 assists during 176 regular season games in Penticton, and has 29 points so far this season for Bemidji State.

And former Vees netminder Perets, he had a 2.19 GAA and five shutouts. In his season with Quinnipiac so far, he has a nation-leading six shutouts.

Fan voting for the Hobey Baker Award takes place here. The top 10 candidates will be announced March 6.

More BCHL articles




Castanet Classifieds


Cover your team's games! Write up a story and email us [email protected] for publication here.


Castanet Proud Member of RTNDA Canada