Okanagan Sun name co-MVP's at annual awards dinner Tuesday

Sun hand out hardware

The Okanagan Sun took a moment to sit back and recognize their individual accomplishments over a perfect BC Football Conference season.

The team gathered Tuesday night at the Kelowna Yacht Club for its annual awards dinner.

In all, 17 players shared in the 16 awards handed out.

The Sun paid tribute to both sides of the ball in naming quarterback Dominic Britton and defensive end Romereo Reid co-MVP's.

Britton was the engine that drove the Sun attack in 2022, completing nearly 60 per cent of his passes for 2,086 yards, 24 touchdowns and just seven interceptions.

He also ran for 207 yards and four touchdowns.

Reid helped anchor a defensive front that harassed opposing quarterbacks all season long.

He registered 12.5 of the teams 45 sacks over the course of the regular season. He also picked up 16 tackles and one fumble recovery.

Mike O'Shea was named the teams top special teams players after another stellar season in which he returned kicks for 1,000 yards and three touchdowns.

O'Shea also found the end zone eight times on offence, catching 28 balls for 483 yards.

Jevan Garwood was named the team's top offensive back, amassing 920 yards on the ground and another 140 through the air with 10 total touchdowns.

Veteran Garrett Cape was named the top defensive back with a pair of interceptions, returning one fumble for a touchdown and recording 30 tackles.

The entire award list includes:

  • Liam Attwood - Scoring leader
  • Colby Miletto - High school player of the year
  • Jeff VanderWerff - Top offensive lineman
  • Kelon Thomas - Top defensive lineman
  • Mike O'Shea - Top special teams player
  • Aiden Hennessey - Most improved
  • Jevan Garwood - Top offensive back
  • Garrett Cape - Top defrensive back
  • Peyton Ryder - Top linebacker
  • Keegan Hynes - Most sportsmanlike
  • Noah Bymak - Top receiver
  • Kelon Thomas - Commitment to excellence
  • Dawson Puk - Most inspirational
  • Aiden Wiberg - Rookie of the year
  • Liam Johnstone - Community service
  • Dom Britton/Romereo Reid - MVP

The Sun now get back to work in preparation for their Canadian Bowl matchup with the Regina Thunder.

The national championship game will be played at Regina's Mosaic Stadium Saturday, Nov. 12.

More BCFC articles