Kamloops Sports Council announces athletic award nominees

After another strong year for local athletes, there is a stacked list of nominees for the Kamloops Sports Council's (KSC) 29th Annual Athletic Awards.

From championship basketball teams to podium-placing paddlers, the finalists for the KSC's eight categories all had outstanding performances over the past year. (You can see the full list of nominees below.)

The winners will be announced at the Kamloops Sports Hall of Fame Banquet, where five new members will also be inducted to the local ring of honour: broadcaster Earl Seitz, reporter Tony Parker, track and field legend Ted Pierson and Kamloops Rugby Club builder Paddy Harrington. The Kamloops Rugby Club will also go into the hall for the team category.

This year's ceremony will also feature the CFL's all-time leader in receiving yards, Geroy Simon, as the guest speaker. The longtime BC Lion retired in 2013 after winning his third Grey Cup with the Saskatchewan Roughriders and is now the Lions' director of scouting.

The banquet will be held May 11 at the Coast Hotel. Tickets are $50. More information is available HERE.

Female Athlete of the Year Nominees:

  • Kristina Dodd – Kamloops Gymnastics and Trampoline Club
  • Maddy Gobeil – South Kamloops Girls Basketball Team
  • Abigail Donaldson – Kamloops Canoe Kayak Club

Male Athlete of the Year Nominees:

  • Gavin Dodd – Kamloops Gymnastics and Trampoline Club
  • Nick Sarai – South Kamloops Boys Basketball Team
  • Stanley Netherton – Kamloops Canoe Kayak Club

Coach of the Year:

  • Dylan Armstrong – Kamloops Track and Field Club
  • Tim Unaegbu – South Kamloops Boys Basketball Team
  • Stanislav Marek – Kamloops Canoe Kayak 

Team of the Year:

  • South Kamloops Boy Basketball – Basketball
  • South Kamloops Girls Basketball – Basketball
  • Team Brown - Curling

Sport Person of the Year:

  • Niki Remez – 2018 BC Winter Games President
  • Keith Liddiard – Kamloops Youth Soccer Association Executive Director
  • Jan Antons – Multi Sport

International Excellence:

  • Greg Stewart – Parashotput
  • Kendra Woodland – Women’s Hockey
  • Josie Morrison – Speed Skating

University Award:

  • Megan Dalke – Canada West Swimming
  • Kyle Pauwels – Lacrosse
  • Tim Dobbert – Canada West Volleyball

Masters Athlete:

  • Women’s Dragon Boat Team – Kamloops Interior Dragons
  • Mike Stewart Smith – Cycling
  • Dave Arthurs – Fastball

More Kamloops News